5a Photodesign Project

final-submission-photoshop-project

This project was deceptively simple, and I think that the hardest part for me personally was finding a suitable photograph that really could showcase a certain style. I went with my brother all through Rexburg and Idaho Falls taking pictures and I eventually settled on this one. I really liked how this particular photograph stood out and gave a very urban feel. It also followed the rule of thirds pretty well. I also decided on a split complementary color scheme in order to showcase the different colors of the wall in the picture.

Using Photoshop was quite an adventure mainly because I have never used it before. I used the standard edits, and then ended up rotating the photo so that it was at a ninety degree angle. I also edited the lamp that was in the top right hand corner of the photo out using the lasso tool. The original color of the wall was grey, but I was able to adjust it with the isolated color tool and make it into the split complementary color that I was looking for.

One thing that really helped from the FOCUS steps was the Organization step. I wanted to make sure that I left plenty of white space and that it had a flow off of the really cool arrow in the photograph.

Our critique went well, and I eventually decided that the three colored lines needed to be at an angle in order to bring the focus to the text on the photograph. I think the overall message of this is to bring to focus that we can find comforting things anywhere, we just need to follow the signs. My audience for this is my teacher (of course) and people looking for a place to find familiarity in their friends and acquaintances.

The top thing that I learned from doing this project is that there is always something that you can do to change a photograph. I didn’t think that I was going to be able to get the lamp out or align the arrow correctly, but with help from the TA’s and lots of questioning I was able to do it. I used an italicized serif font and a sans serif font as my fonts for this project.

Colors: Red, Orange and Teal

Original Image

img_2102

Photo taken 10/7/16 at Rizo’s Pizzeria.

 

Leave a comment